Make Time to Art!

I have been watching Rae Missigman’s YouTube videos recently (and repeatedly).  She has a great series called 15 Minutes of Mixed Media where she deliberately restricts her time to make an art journal spread.  She calls it “an exercise in art and making time.”  I’m always amazed at how much can be accomplished in such a short period.  Even though there is a time pressure, it also seems to be freeing in some way.  So, I thought I would give it a go!

I chose a separate journal book to practice in.  This journal came from Gettysburg, PA and is leather bound with beautiful embossing all over the cover.  The pages were what drew me in though.  The paper seems to be handmade and is very fibrous.  When you put a layer of gesso and then layers of acrylic paint, it has the feel of canvas.  I love it!  The pages are approximately 4″ x 6″ so it’s not too intimidating to be faced with a large white space.

journal  15 minutes is a little ambitious for me so I gave myself 30 minutes to make a spread.  I did minor preparations before I started the timer by pre-gessoing the pages and making sure that the supplies I wanted to use were within arms reach.  I didn’t want to waste time searching through my stash for paint colours or stencils.  I put the ones I thought I might use right in front of me, along with the usual baby wipes, paper towels and water bucket.

The was the result.

journey1I’m very pleased with how this turned out!  I used bright and happy colours (Golden acrylics) with stencils, stamps and pens to create marks.  I didn’t keep a list of supplies as I went, like I normally do.  I wanted to have the least amount of pressure while I made the page.  It began as an experiment and I’m very excited to try it again.

journey2     journey3I highly recommend trying this out for yourself, especially if you feel like you’re in a creative rut.  To get some inspiration, watch your favourite artist on YouTube, prepare your space, sit down, and go for it!  I’m going to continue to practice this and will post my pages as they come.

Thanks for taking a look and please share or comment below.  I would love to hear if you have tried this for yourself and what has worked for you when you make time to art!

3 thoughts on “Make Time to Art!

Leave a Reply

